History of the Festival
… From 1957 to today… 64 years already!

In 1957, passionate of amateur theater including the brothers Guy and Max BROUSSE, René CELLARIO, Jean RATTI, decided, with the support of the Monegasque government, to help the very young International Association of Amateur Theater, by organizing an international festival.

 

The first International Festival of Amateur Theater in Monaco brings together twelve troupes from Europe. At the same time, AITA / IATA is holding its 3rd Congress.

 

The Monaco Studio, AITA / IATA National Center, supported by the Monegasque authorities, therefore undertakes to organize, every four years, in the Principality of Monaco, an international festival and the official AITA Congress / IATA. Thus, driven by the Monaco festival, AITA / IATA is growing with this festival of enthusiasts. From twelve participating troupes in 1957, twenty in the 1970s, the Festival has reached its peak since 1997 with 24 invited troupes from 5 continents. That year, the Festival, a veritable showcase of world amateur theater, took its definitive title of “Mondial du Théâtre”.

 

During these years, the Mondial du Théâtre expanded its activities: alongside performances, which allow the different troupes to compare their theatrical practices, Colloques and Ateliers have emerged.

The Colloques are a place of exchange for critics, directors, actors and the public, building on the shows seen the day before.

Ateliers, constitute a teaching time during which internationally recognized specialists provide their know-how to all participants, as well as to the public. For example, Andrew Tsubaki (No theater), René Jauneau (mask technique), Mort Clark (use of space), Michail Choumachenko (Stanislavski method), Allison Williams (masks and body expression), Gytis Padegimas (the actor's play) ...

"As long as passion and envy animate fans of Monaco, the Mondial du Théâtre will remain!"

Histoire du Festival
…de 1957 à nos jours... 64 ans déjà !

En 1957, des passionnés du théâtre amateur, notamment les frères Guy et Max BROUSSE, René CELLARIO, Jean RATTI, décident, avec le soutien du gouvernement monégasque, d’aider la toute jeune Association Internationale du Théâtre Amateur, en organisant un festival international.

 

Le premier Festival International du Théâtre Amateur de Monaco regroupe douze troupes venues d’Europe. Parallèlement, l’AITA/IATA tient son 3ème Congrès.

 

Le Studio de Monaco, Centre National de l’AITA/IATA, soutenu par les autorités monégasques, s’engage dès lors à organiser, tous les quatre ans, en Principauté de Monaco, un festival international et le Congrès officiel de l’AITA/IATA. Ainsi, poussé par le festival de Monaco, l’AITA/IATA grandit avec ce festival de passionnés. De douze troupes participantes en 1957, vingt dans les années 70, le Festival a atteint son apogée depuis 1997 avec 24 troupes invitées issues des 5 continents. Cette année-là, le Festival, véritable vitrine du théâtre amateur mondial, prend son titre définitif de « Mondial du Théâtre ».

 

Durant ces années, le Mondial du Théâtre a élargi ses activités : à coté des représentations, qui permettent aux différentes troupes de confronter leurs pratiques théâtrales, des Colloques et des Ateliers ont vu le jour.

Les Colloques sont un lieu d’échange pour les critiques, les metteurs en scène, les comédiens et le public, en prenant appui sur les spectacles vus la veille.

Les Ateliers constituent un temps d’enseignement durant lesquels des spécialistes reconnus sur le plan international dispensent leur savoir-faire à tous les participants, ainsi qu’au public. Se sont succédés, par exemple, Andrew Tsubaki (théâtre No), René Jauneau (technique des masques), Mort Clark (utilisation de l’espace), Michail Choumachenko (méthode Stanislavski), Allison Williams (masques et expression corporelle), Gytis Padegimas (le jeu de l’acteur)...

"Tant que la passion et l’envie animeront les amateurs de Monaco, le Mondial du Théâtre demeurera !"